Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen will open its first restaurant in the DR sometime this 2023. The Dominican company Caleya got the rights for developing the brand in the country. The same company manages all the Burger King, Papa John's, Krispy Kreme, Palacio del Cine, and Orange Theory Fitness in the country.

They haven't made public the exact date of the grand opening of the first restaurant or if it will be in Santo Domingo. While most foreign brands open first in Santo Domingo, other places such as Santiago are known to have been the places where the foreign brand open its first Dominican store/restaurant.

As of right now, the closest Popeye to the DR is in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico.

I think though not entirely sure, Popeye is an African American business. I don't think many businesses owned by black Americans enter the DR market.

Last edited:

chico bill

Dogs Better than People
May 6, 2016
Popeye Louisiana Kitchen will open its first restaurant in the DR sometime this 2023. The Dominican company Celaya got the rights for developing the brand in the country. The same company manages all the Burger King, Papa John's, Krispy Kreme, Palacio del Cine, and Orange Theory Fitness in the country.

They haven't made public the exact date of the grand opening of the first restaursnt or if it will be in Santo Domingo. While most foreign brands open first in Santo Domingo, other places such as Santiago are known to have been the places where the foreign brand open its first Dominican store/restaurant.

As of right now, the closest Popeye to the DR is in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico.

I think though not entirely sure, Popeye is an African American business. I don't think many businesses owned by black Americans enter the DR market.
Nope - Al Copeland - a white man from New Orleans started it

Jan 9, 2004