Strong Turbulance in Jetblue JFK - STI

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This was in October 2023 in a Jetblue flight from NY to Santiago. At about 13:04 you can see the airplane getting closer into a huge cloud. Usually they try to go around these clouds, so this one must had been too big to just fly around. Then at 13:48 the video catches a strong turbulence almost as soon as the flight attendant ask people to be seated and fasten their seat belt. She said it just in time.

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
I used to be afraid of flying until I worked in an aircraft factory. You have to see structural testing to believe how much they can take.

NanSanPedro

Nickel with tin plating
Apr 12, 2019
Boca Chica
yeshaiticanprogram.com
I used to be afraid of flying until I worked in an aircraft factory. You have to see structural testing to believe how much they can take.
You have experience there where I don't. I did work on submarines and mini-subs in a previous life. Exact same methodology. But then look at the stats. We have a ton of data showing flying is so much safer than driving.

jd426

Gold
Dec 12, 2009
Just like bridges ( theoretically) they build with like a Factor of THREE Safety Margin.
I think Planes stay within the first 20 Percent .. so a factor of 5 ?... amazing really.

The Fact that the Plane which landed on the Hudson, loaded with Passengers did NOT Break apart ON IMPACT sort of PROVES this
The Capt of course gets most of the Credit.. but what good would his skills have been if the plane busted open like a tin can when it Hit water
and that Water was like cement at that speed . Not even a Wing ripped off

Reactions: Big

jd426

Gold
Dec 12, 2009
I try to keep my safety belt strapped on at all times when in flight, even when sleeping.
Which is a very Good move.. Low Pressure Air Pockets are the most Dangerous " turbulence" of all.