Expat bubbles

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I wish other people could see this the same way as you do. This is precisely my main message to people, but unfortunately, I lack the writing skill and elegance that chris possesses. Its just people twist and turn my words to transform me into some racist monster yet totally losing my message in translation.
Then again, who are the people who get offended by my posts?
Like we say, if the show fits....
AZB
There are people that read between the lines and then there are people that do not.

The former understand you very well, the latter doesn't have a clue.

-NALs

jackquontee

May 20, 2005
I don't see the poor of the Dominican Republic as anything but poor. It is what it is. If I have to see anyone as less fortune, I must by definition make a value judgement as to what 'less or more fortunate' means. I prefer to stay clear of those kinds of value judgements and stay simple. I don't think anyone else is 'less' than I am, or for that matter, 'more' than I am.

This is a perfect example of why I don't post much. Had you used my comment about the Dominicans as being "less fortunate than I" in the context in which it was made (relative to education and opportunity) you may not have felt a need to defend yourself against what are perfectly legitimate and truthful claims.

As far as your comment "It is what it is" goes, I agree. It is what it is. However, there seem to be too many people who subscribe to this belief who seem to have a vested interest in seeing that it stays that way as well. I guess it's time to take another months-long hiatus.

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
This is a perfect example of why I don't post much. Had you used my comment about the Dominicans as being "less fortunate than I" in the context in which it was made (relative to education and opportunity) you may not have felt a need to defend yourself against what are perfectly legitimate and truthful claims.