Haitian workers in the DR, and the condition of Haiti . . . is it getting better?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ltsnyder

Bronze
Jun 4, 2003
www.x3ci.com
Just wanted general feedback about Haitians in the DR and the conditions of Haiti in general (trying to bar the obvious Jennine effect). Since the liberation of Haiti have things gotten better for Haitians? Or is there an even greater influx of poor Haitians into the DR? Any one have the pulse on this?
I imagine any one with Haitian house workers employed would know about the current conditions.

-Lee

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
As long as this thread retains a very strong DR slant, it stays.
Please keep on topic and I'll remind everyone again, this message board is not about Haiti, it's about the Dominican Republic. So keep your posts focused on the Dominican Republic.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Has the influx of Haitians into the DR ever lighten up? Um, no.

I guess they learned that its easier to come "on the low" rather than parading with bayonets like they did in past centuries.

It also has to do with the extremely relax attitude the DR government has towards this problem, a problem that will cost us in the long shot monetarily and loss in economic advancement. I'm saying that because most Haitians aggregate the problems in the DR, demanding the DR to take care of Dominican poor and Haitian poor, further straining whatever resources are available here.

The public hospitals are in shambles, but they probably would not have been if the Hospitals were to attend Dominicans. Nowadays, Haitians outnumber Dominicans in many hospital and by the time a Dominican makes it to the hospital, all the medicines have been used up and the beds are taken. Its not like if things will be perfect without the Haitian problem, but it would be alot better than before.