Sirena: First Dominican Stores with Auto Checkout

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Sirena has become the first Dominican store chain with auto checkout. Sooner or later was going to reach the DR. I have mixed feelings about this. The DR isn't like the USA? What will cashiers and bag boys do once they are laid off?

The first machine is already working at Sirena Market in Lope de Vega. Eventually, all Sirena hypermarkets and Sirena Market stores will get them. Expect other Dominican companies to follow in the footsteps.

Potentially bad news for cashiers, but potentially good news for customers that don't want to deal with horrible customer service when buying a few things.

I guess once this makes it to the Sirena in Puerto Plata and Sirena Market in Sosúa, Las Terrenas, and Bávaro we'll see more expats explaining how it was trying them. Who knows, mqybe Playero will get a few machines first that Sirena Market in Sosúa,

J3vVshF.png

Reactions: colmcb

malko

Campesino !! :)
Jan 12, 2013
Finally !!

I choose which store I shop in back home by how easy it is to check out / pay.

Kricke87

Feb 16, 2021
Sosúa
This will never work here, they just don't know it yet.
I guess the cashiers and bag boys are going to have to become security instead, making sure that everyone has paid for what they leave the store with.

We have this system in Sweden, and Swedes in general are honest people.
Nevertheless, stores that have these systems in place lose millions of $ in revenue each year because people are not honest.
Instead of scanning let's say 3 packs of a product, they only scan 1.
So if that's a problem in a "first world" country, how many of you think that Dominicans in general are going to be honest and scan all of their products correctly??

malko

Jan 12, 2013
I guess the cashiers and bag boys are going to have to become security instead, making sure that everyone has paid for what they leave the store with.