Sosúa Getting a Red Light District?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Somos Pueblo says there have been a proposal to create a red light district in Sosúa given the increase of prostitution and the effect it has on the local economy. What area could this be?

Apparently, many Sosúa residents and businesses are worried about the increase of prostitution, so it says.

Fulano2

Bronze
Jun 5, 2011
Europe
If you want to get more decent tourism and families visiting the north coast this is not a good idea.

johne

Silver
Jun 28, 2003
Prostitution is legal in the DR. However, the act of promoting (as in pimp or pimping is ILLEGAL). Tell me how any government can get away with this. Please leave out the words: Corruption, payoffs, "this is the DR", as I know all those that one would cite. If we stay with the concept of this is illegal and a outrage to each and every homeowner that wants to follow the rule of law.

Reactions: jd426

Taylor

Buy the ticket, take the ride
Jan 28, 2005
It's possible that this could clean up the whole scene - remove any minors, created education points for non profits to operate, have easy access to STI testing, - and (if possible) make it an even bigger destination.

Northern Coast Diver

Private Scuba Guide
Feb 23, 2020
Sosua
This has been discussed for years. The Sosua town council even passed new zoning regulations before Willy was elected. The plan was to move the businesses that support prostitution to the east end of town. Willy refused to enforce the new zoning rules. But, the new entertainment center in front of Politur, has been making improvements. Do they know something?

drstock

Silver
Oct 29, 2010
Cabarete