PRSC waits till last day to register candidacies

The Partido Reformista Social Cristiano was the last party to register its presidential and vice presidential candidate for the forthcoming election. The PRSC registered Jacinto Peynado as its presidential and María Isabel Gassó Diez as its the vice presidential candidates. The Partido Liberal (La Estructura) and the Partido Demócrata Popular are allied with the PRSC, and their candidates are thus the same as the PRSC.

Of the 19 parties recognized officially by the Junta Central Electoral, only the Fuerza Nacional Progresista (FNP) presided over by Dr Marino Vinicio Castillo has not presented candidates for the 16 of May election. The Electoral Law requires that the parties register their candidates at least 60 days before polling day.

The first political organization to register their candidates was the Partido Revolucionario Independiente (PRI), which registered the candidacies of José Francisco Peña Gómez and Fernando Alvarez Bogaert on 15 February.

Later, on 28 February, the Movimiento de Conciliación Nacional registered the candidacies of Puro Pichardo and Franklyn Domínguez. On the same day, the Partido Renacentista Nacional (PRN) registered Dr Agustín Encarnación Montero and businessman Juan Súarez.

On 13 March, the parties that make up the Acuerdo de Santo Domingo (ASD) registered Peña Gómez and Alvarez Bogaert. The ASD is made up of the Partido Revolucionario Dominicano (PRD), the Partido Popular Cristiano (PPC), Unidad Democrática (UD), Quisqueyano Demócrata (PQD), Partido de los Trabajadores Dominicanos (PTD), Partido Nacional de Veteranos y Civiles (PNVC), Partido Democrático Institucional (PDI), Partido de Concertación Democrática (CD) and the Bloque Institucional Socialdemócrata (BIS).

On 15 March, the Partido de la Liberación Dominicana (PLD) registered its candidates, Drs Leonel Fernández and Jaime David Fernández, as president and vice president.

On the same day, Dr Rafael Alburquerque and the journalist Dalia María Feliz were registered by the Partido del Pueblo Dominicano.

On 16 March, the Alianza Social Dominicana (ASD) registered José Rafael Abinader and Luis Minier Aliés.