Expats Living in the DR

As an expat living at least 3 months every year in the DR, how would you rate your experience?

• Very Good

Votes: 9 34.6%
  • Good

Votes: 11 42.3%
  • Fair

Votes: 5 19.2%
  • Bad

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Very Bad

Votes: 1 3.8%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
An interesting video was posted a few days ago about expats in the DR and what several of them have to say about living in the DR. Hence the poll.

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
If you want to just eat, drink and enjoy the sun and the abundance of tropical fruit. If you can afford that. It’s amazing.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
The video does demonstrate what I have seen over the past 20 years as the north coast has transitioned from tourism to more expats.

(Canada was treated as two different countries - :unsure::love:)

Where did the Dutch go? You know the ones from Holland or the Netherlands or whatever it is called, so confusing, and a German is actually interviewed.

Reactions: bachata

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
The video does demonstrate what I have seen over the past 20 years as the north coast has transitioned from tourism to more expats.

Is that only on the North Coast then ? It doesn’t seem to be the case anywhere else in the DR.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Is that only on the North Coast then ? It doesn’t seem to be the case anywhere else in the DR.
Yes: I think so, but I have little knowledge of what is going on in Punta Cana other than what I see in the news.

The north coast in specific lost tourists and many flights to POP as Punta Cana dominated and took over the tourism and far more easy flights,
Cause and effect because of Punta Cana's many AI resorts and other developments down south.

And then with the Wuhan Flu, many people came to escape the nonsense in the USA and Canada.
More Americans are coming than previously to retires and/or be snowbirds.